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Proposed Rulemakings____________________________   
▪ BEHAVIOR ANALYSTS 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND 
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION 
proposed a new Part titled Behavior 
Analyst Licensing Act (68 IAC 1376; 48 
Ill Reg 2313) implementing PA 102-
953 (Behavior Analyst Licensing Act), 
which institutes a system of licensing 
for persons who provide Applied 
Behavior Analysis (ABA) therapy for 
children with autism spectrum 
disorders. The Part adopts the 
professional standards and licensing 
examinations of the national Behavior 
Analyst Certification Board (BACB) 
with regard to training and 
qualifications for licensed behavior 
analysts (LBAs) and licensed assistant 
behavior analysts (LABAs). The 500 
hours of supervised experience 
required by the Act is deemed 
satisfied by meeting the field training 
requirements established by the BACB 
for a Board Certified Behavior Analyst 
or Board Certified Assistant Behavior 
Analyst. Persons who apply for either 

license prior to 7/1/28 without the 
required hours of supervised 
experience may be considered for 
licensure if they hold a graduate 
degree (LBA) or bachelor’s degree 
(LABA) from an accredited college or 
university in the field of behavior 
analysis and have passed the BACB 
licensing examination. The initial 

licensing fee for an LBA is $400 and for 
an LABA is $100; renewal fees are 
$300 and $75, respectively. All 
licenses expire on Oct. 31 of odd-
numbered years, and 30 hours of 
approved continuing education (CE) 
will be required every renewal period 
beginning with the 2027 renewal 
cycle.  CE may be offered in person or 
online. Approved CE sponsors include 
the BACB, American Psychological 
Association, any Illinois college or 

university offering a degree in 
behavior analysis, or other entities 
approved by DFPR. Fees for CE 
sponsors (other than State agencies, 
universities or community colleges) 
are $500 for initial approval and $250 
for each 2-year renewal. Other 
provisions address licensure by 
endorsement, restoration of lapsed or 
inactive licenses, waiver of CE 
requirements for good cause, 
unprofessional conduct and 
disciplinary actions, and the authority 
of DFPR to grant individual variances 
from these rules.  Behavior analysts, 
assistant behavior analysts, and their 
employers are affected by this 
rulemaking.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 4/1/24: 
Craig Cellini, DFPR, 320 W. 
Washington St., 2nd Floor, Springfield, 
IL  62786, 217-785-0810, fax 217-557-
4451, Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov  
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THE FLINN REPORT 

ADOPTED RULES: Rules adopted by agencies this week. EMERGENCY RULES: Temporary rules adopted for no more than 150 days.  
PROPOSED RULEMAKINGS: Rules proposed by agencies this week, commencing a First Notice public comment period of at least 45 days. 
PEREMPTORY RULES: Rules adopted without prior public notice or JCAR review as authorized by 5 ILCS 100/5-50.  
▪ - Designates rules of special interest to small businesses, small municipalities and/or non-profit organizations. Agencies must consider 
comments from these groups and attempt to minimize regulatory burdens on them.  
QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: Submit mail, e-mail or phone calls to the agency personnel listed below each summary.  
RULE TEXT: First Notice proposed text, emergency rule and peremptory rule text is available at the Secretary of State website 
(https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/home.html) or at the Illinois General Assembly website (http://www.ilga.gov) under “Illinois 
Register”. Second Notice text for proposed rulemakings (original version with any changes made by the agency during First Notice included) is 
available at the JCAR website.  
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Proposed 
Rulemakings 
(cont. from page 1) 
 
▪ PARKING TAX 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
proposed amendments to Parking 
Excise Tax (86 IAC 195; 48 Ill Reg 2377) 
implementing Public Acts 102-700 and 
103-9. The PAs and this rulemaking 
clarify how this tax (6% of each hourly, 
daily or weekly parking fee; 9% of 
monthly or annual parking fees) is 
imposed, collected and paid when 
booking intermediaries facilitate use 
of parking spaces on behalf of the 
registered or unregistered operators 
of parking areas and garages. Effective 
1/1/24, the booking intermediary, 
rather than the operator, is 
responsible for collecting and 
remitting the tax to DOR. Provisions 
that applied to operators prior to and 
after 7/1/23 are explained, along with 
provisions that apply to operators and 
booking intermediaries effective 
1/1/24. Businesses that operate 
parking facilities or that book or 
collect parking fees on their behalf are 
affected.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 4/1/24: 
Alexis K. Overstreet, DOR, 101 W. 
Jefferson St., Springfield IL 62794, 217-
782-2844, REV.GCO@illinois.gov   
 
CAREER & TECH EDUCATION  
 
The STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 
proposed amendments to the Part 
titled Career and Technical Education 
(23 IAC 256; 48 Ill Reg 2297) instituting 
a new funding formula for career and 
technical education (CTE) 
programming. The formula for high 
schools will be based on the number 
of CTE participants (students who 
have enrolled in at least one CTE 
course during the school year with an 

outcome of pass, fail or incomplete) 
and number of CTE concentrators 
(students who have successfully 
completed at least 2 CTE courses in a 
single program during their high 
school career). For elementary 
schools, the formula will be based on 
total student enrollment. For all 
schools, these numbers will be 
adjusted based on each district's final 
percent of adequacy (from SBE’s 
evidence-based school funding 
formula) to calculate adequacy-
adjusted counts for each district. 
Finally, the formula for area career 
centers will be based on the higher of 
its prior year enrollment or its 3-year 
average enrollment. Funds allocated 
for leadership programs will be based 
on regional average salary data for 
high school principals. SBE intends to 
phase in the new funding formula in 
such a way that no recipient loses 
funds year-over-year during the 
phase-in period.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 4/1/24: 
Azita Kakvand, SBE, 555 W. Monroe 

St., Suite 900, Chicago IL 60661, 312-
783-2757, rules@isbe.net  
 
INSURANCE EXCHANGE 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE 
proposed amendments to the Part 
titled Navigator, In-Person Counselor 
and Certified Application Counselor 
Certification (50 IAC 4515; 48 Ill Reg 
2347) implementing Public Act 103-
103, which will transition the State’s 
Affordable Care Act health insurance 
exchange to a State-based health 
insurance exchange on a federal 
platform by 2025 and a fully State-
based exchange by 2026. This 
rulemaking updates existing federal 
training standards for Navigators, 
Certified Application Counselors, and 
other personnel who assist consumers 
in choosing affordable insurance plans 
or, if eligible, enrolling in Medicaid. 
This rulemaking also provides that 
when reviewing the criminal record of 
an applicant for certification under 
this Part, DOI will not consider juvenile 
 

(cont. page 3) 

Emergency Rule 
 
IMMIGRANT HEALTHCARE  
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HEALTHCARE AND FAMILY SERVICES adopted an 
emergency amendment to Special Eligibility Groups (89 IAC 118; 48 Ill Reg 
2712) effective 2/2/24, amending a previous emergency rule effective 
11/12/23 for the remainder of its 150-day term. This emergency 
amendment removes a provision (added on 1/1/24) that had allowed 
healthcare providers to charge a copayment of up to $100 for hospital 
emergency room visits by enrollees in the Health Benefits for Immigrant 
Adults (HBIA) and Health Benefits for Immigrant Seniors (HBIS) programs. 
HFS states that it is removing this copayment provision because the federal 
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services have confirmed that 
emergency room services to this patient population will receive federal 
matching reimbursement (other services covered by HBIA and HBIS are 
entirely State funded).  
 
Questions/requests for copies: Steffanie Garrett, HFS, 201 S. Grand Ave. 
East, 3rd Floor, Springfield IL 62763-0002, 217-782-1233, 
HFS.Rules@illinois.gov  
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Proposed 
Rulemakings 

(cont. from page 2) 
 
offenses; arrests without a 
subsequent charge or conviction; 
charges that were dismissed; 
convictions overturned on appeal; or 
arrest/conviction records that were 
later expunged or sealed. If an 
applicant has a felony conviction 
record, DOI will consider mitigating 
factors and evidence of rehabilitation 
before deciding whether to deny, 
suspend or revoke 
certification/licensure.    
 
Questions/requests for copies through 
4/1/24: Robert Planthold, DOI, 122 S. 
Michigan Ave., 19th Floor, Chicago IL 
60603, 312-814-5445, 
robert.planthold@illinois.gov or Susan 
Anders, DOI, 320 W. Washington St. 
4th Floor, Springfield IL 62767, 217-
558-0957, sue.anders@illinois.gov  
 
DNR PROPERTIES  
 
The DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL 
RESOURCES proposed amendments to 
the Part titled Regulations for the 
Letting of Concessions, Farm Leases, 
Sale of Buildings and Facilities, and 
Demolitions (17 IAC 150; 48 Ill Reg 
2365) to align the Part with USDA 
regulations and with the Procurement 
Code. The rulemakings remove time 
limits on agricultural management 
leases and specific procedures for 
competitive bidding on such leases. All 
tracts that are 50 acres or less, or that 
are completely surrounded by private 
land, are exempted from competitive 
bidding for an agricultural 
management lease.  
 
DNR also proposed amendments to 
Field Trials on Department-Owned or -
Managed Sites (17 IAC 910; 48 Ill Reg 
2369) raising fees for conducting field 
trials on Department property, 

effective 1/1/25, to $100 (currently 
$70) per day for pointer, retriever, fox 
hound and flushing breed trials and 
$40 (currently $25) per day for beagle 
and coon hound trials, while waiving 
any additional fees associated with an 
activity permit. The World Shooting 
and Recreational Complex (WSRC) in 
Sparta is added as a field trial site 
while Chain O’ Lakes State Park is 
removed. Field trials at WSRC are 
generally limited to non-camping 
areas, but other areas may be used 
outside of camping season (i.e., before 
April 1 or after Oct. 31) or as the site 
allows.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments on the 2 DNR 
rulemakings through 4/1/24: Part 150, 
Nicole Thomas; Part 910, John Fischer; 
DNR, One Natural Resources Way, 
Springfield IL 62702, 217-782-1809, 
dnr.rules@illinois.gov  

CHILD SUPPORT  
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HEALTHCARE 
AND FAMILY SERVICES proposed 
amendments to Child Support 
Services (89 IAC 160; 48 Ill Reg 2333) 
reflecting PA 102-1115, which 
provides that all child support 
collected on or after 1/1/23 on behalf 
of a family receiving Temporary 
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
is passed through to the family and 
disregarded in determining the 
amount of TANF assistance they will 
receive.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 4/1/24: 
Steffanie Garrett, HFS, 201 S. Grand 
Ave. East, 3rd Floor, Springfield IL 
62763-0002, 217-782-1233, 
HFS.Rules@illinois.gov  
 

DFPR Public Hearing 
 
▪ CREDIT UNIONS  
 
The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION will 
hold a public hearing on a proposed new Part titled Credit Union 
Community Reinvestment (38 IAC 185; 48 Ill Reg 621) on Thursday, March 
1, at 11 a.m. at the DFPR offices at 555 W. Monroe St., Chicago. Persons 
who cannot attend the hearing in person may participate via WebEx at: 
https://illinois.webex.com/illinois/j.php?MTID=m0657fdc0b4ab9cc8c2bd9
dd1db77e5c7.  The password for access to the stream is cxBcMBgM456. 
Participants may also join by phone at 1-312-535-8110 or 1-415-655-0002, 
access code 2631 190 0147.  
The hearing concerns DFPR’s proposed rules for credit unions implementing 
Public Act 101-657, the Illinois Community Reinvestment Act (ILCRA). The 
Act and these rules are intended to ensure that regulated financial 
institutions equitably provide financial services to individuals and 
businesses in low-income (less than 50% of an area's median income) and 
moderate-income (50% to 80% of area median income) neighborhoods and 
in areas that lack access to safe and affordable banking/lending services. 
Persons wishing to testify at this public hearing are asked to submit a 
written copy of their testimony prior to or at the hearing.   
 
Questions regarding this rulemaking or the public hearing: Craig Cellini, 
DFPR, 320 W. Washington St., 2nd Floor, Springfield IL  62786, 217-785-0810, 
fax 217-557-4451. 
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Adopted Rules_____________________________________ 
SCHOOLS 
 
The STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 
adopted amendments to Public 
Schools Evaluation, Recognition and 
Supervision (23 IAC 1; proposed at 47 
Ill Reg 12978) effective 2/5/24 at 48 Ill 
Reg 2411, establishing a resolution 
process for disputes involving a 
student’s claim of homeless status as 
determined under the State's 
Education for Homeless Children Act 
[105 ILCS 45] and the federal 
McKinney-Vento Education for 
Homeless Children Act. Issues that 
may be resolved through this 
procedure include, but are not limited 
to, the effect of the student's claimed 
homelessness on registration, 
enrollment, transportation, access to 
curricular or extracurricular programs, 
fee waivers, and program eligibility. 
The student must continue to be 
enrolled and receive services such as 
transportation while the dispute 
resolution process, including any 
appeal, is ongoing.  Before beginning 
this process, the school district's local 
homeless liaison must attempt to 
resolve the disagreement between 
the district and the student and/or the 
student's parent or guardian. If the 
dispute remains unresolved, the 
district must notify the student, 
parent or guardian, along with the 
regional superintendent and the State 
Coordinator for education of 
homeless children and youth, of its 
intent to initiate the resolution 
process. The notification must include 
information regarding sources of low 
cost or free legal assistance and 
advocacy services available in the 
community. Within 10 school days 
after this notification, the regional 
superintendent must appoint a fair 
and impartial ombudsperson who will 
oversee the resolution process and 
arrange a meeting among the student, 
parent/guardian, and other interested 
parties. (Since 1st Notice, SBE has 

clarified that the ombudsperson shall, 
if possible, arrange this meeting 
within 5 school days after receiving 
notice of the dispute.) After this 
meeting, the ombudsperson has 10 
school days to issue a written decision 
as to whether the student is or is not 
homeless. This decision may be 
appealed to the State Coordinator for 
a final determination within 15 days 
after receiving the appeal.  If the State 
Superintendent determines that a 
school district acted contrary to 
applicable law, the Superintendent 
may require the district to take 
remedial action and may place the 
district on probation if it does not 
comply.  
 
Questions/requests for copies: Azita 
Kakvand, SBE, 555 W. Monroe St., 
Suite 900, Chicago IL  60661, 312-783-
2757, rules@isbe.net 
 
▪ HOME INSPECTORS 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND 
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION adopted 
amendments to the Part Ɵtled Home 
Inspector License Act (68 IAC 1410; 
proposed at 47 Ill Reg 14917) effecƟve 
2/2/24 at 48 Ill Reg 2424, that 
implement 2 Public Acts and make 
other updates and clarificaƟons. The 
rulemaking implements PA 102-20 
(sunset renewal of the Act through 
1/1/27) and 102-970, updates the 
training curriculum and standards of 
pracƟce, and requires sexual 
harassment prevenƟon training as 
part of conƟnuing educaƟon (CE). 
Provisions for online/virtual CE are 
added, and licensure applicants have 3 
years to complete the applicaƟon 
process from start to finish. Home 
inspector enƟƟes (e.g., partnerships, 
corporaƟons, LLCs) must designate a 
managing home inspector who is 
licensed by DFPR. If an iniƟal license is 
granted within 90 days of the blanket 
expiraƟon date for all home inspector 

licenses (Nov. 30 of even-numbered 
years) the licensee will not have to 
complete CE requirements for the 
next license term. Inspectors whose 
licenses expire while they are on 
acƟve military duty or are employed 
by DFPR may renew their licenses 
within 2 years aŌer honorable 
discharge or compleƟon of their 
employment, without paying late 
renewal fees or taking an exam or 
addiƟonal CE. Other provisions add, 
effecƟve 1/1/25, a second pre-license 
course with 5 field inspecƟon events 
and a field inspecƟon examinaƟon to 
the currently required 60-credit-hour 
pre-license course;  clarify procedures 
for obtaining licensure by 
endorsement or claiming CE credit 
earned out of State; outline 
disclaimers and exclusions that may 
be included in a home inspecƟon 
contract (e.g., the inspector is not 
required to enter areas that are 
unsafe or not readily accessible); list 
items to be included in inspecƟon 
reports and allow reports to be 
completed in electronic format; add 
liability insurance requirements; and 
remove (in accordance with statute) 
provisions allowing a license to be 
suspended for failure to pay child 
support, taxes or student loans. 
Licensing fees for inspectors and for 
conƟnuing educaƟon or pre-license 
educaƟon providers are generally 
unchanged, except that educaƟon 
providers must pay $150 for iniƟal 
licensure of a field inspecƟon course 
and $150 (formerly $100) for the 60-
hour pre-license course. Home 
inspectors, their employers, and their 
conƟnuing educaƟon providers are 
affected by this rulemaking.  
 
QuesƟons/requests for copies: Craig 
Cellini, DFPR, 320 W. Washington St., 
2nd Floor, Springfield IL  62786, 217- 
 
 

(cont. page 5) 
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Adopted Rules 
(cont. from page 4) 
 
785-0810, fax 217-557-4451, 
Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov 
 
HOSPITALS 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
adopted an amendment to Hospital 
Licensing Requirements (77 IAC 250; 
proposed at 47 Ill Reg 9134) effective 
1/30/24 at 48 Ill Reg 2516, replacing 
an emergency amendment that was 
effective 11/23/23. This rulemaking 
implements a federal waiver (valid 
through 12/31/24) allowing qualifying 
hospitals, with approval from the 
federal Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services, to provide limited 
inpatient services in patients' homes. 
DPH's rule requires Illinois hospitals 
that receive the Acute Hospital Care at 
Home (AHCH) waiver to provide DPH 
with specified documents, comply 
with various hospital health and safety 
requirements, and comply with all 
COVID-19 directives and guidance 
issued by the Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention, DPH, other 
State agencies, and local health 
departments. Hospitals that have 
applied for or received the federal 
AHCH waiver are affected.  
 
HOSPICE PROGRAMS 
 
DPH also adopted amendments to 
Hospice Programs (77 IAC 280; 
proposed 47 Ill Reg 13152) effective 
1/30/24 at 48 Ill Reg 2531, 
implementing Public Act 103-224, 
which increases the number of 
allowable licensed hospice residences 
from 5 to 16 in each of 3 geographic 
areas (counties with a population of 
700,000 or more; counties with 
populations of 200,000 up to 700,000; 
counties of less than 200,000 
population) defined in the Act. Other 
amendments allow license applicants 
up to 90 days to submit additional 

documentation after DPH completes 
its initial review of an application and 
update incorporated federal 
regulations.  
 
ID/DD FACILITIES 
  
DPH adopted amendments to 
Intermediate Care for the 
Developmentally Disabled Facilities 
Code (77 IAC 350; proposed at 47 Ill 
Reg 14205) and Medically Complex for 
the Developmentally Disabled 
Facilities Code (77 IAC 390; proposed 
at 47 Ill Reg 14296) both effective 
1/30/24 at 48 Ill Reg 2546 and 2635, 
implementing PA 102-1007, which 
amended the ID/DD and MC/DD Acts 
to require facilities licensed under 
these Acts to inform their nurses of 
employee assistance programs. The 
Part 350 rulemaking also contains 
numerous other amendments 
designed to align the Part with the Act; 
updates construction and life safety 
requirements; updates certification 
requirements for CNAs and dietitians; 
institutes gender neutral language; 
and changes references to “mental 
retardation” to “intellectual 
disability." The Part 350 amendments 
additionally require ID/DD facilities to 
comply with the Authorized Electronic 
Monitoring in Long-Term Care 
Facilities Act and rules (77 IAC 389). 
 
▪ EDUCATIONAL LOANS 
 
DPH adopted amendments to Loan 
Repayment Assistance for Physicians 
(77 IAC 581; proposed at 47 Ill Reg 
12852) and Underserved Health Care 
Provider Workforce Code (77 IAC 590; 
proposed at 47 Ill Reg 12990), both 
effective 1/30/24 at 48 Ill Reg 2647 
and 2653, implementing Public Acts 
103-219 and 103-507.  The Part 581 
rulemaking defines an eligible 
physician as a person licensed under 
the Medical Practice Act of 1987, but 
removes language stating that the 
physician must be licensed to 
"practice medicine in all of its 

branches", thereby no longer 
excluding chiropractic physicians. The 
rulemaking also expands the 
definition of educational loans to 
include loans incurred while attending 
medical school or a chiropractic 
college or institution.  Amendments to 
Part 590 extend educational loan 
repayment assistance under this Part 
to chiropractic physicians and 
anesthesiologists and make 
chiropractic students eligible for 
medical student scholarships. 
Chiropractors, anesthesiologists, and 
their employing healthcare providers 
are affected.  
 
Questions/requests for copies of the 6 
DPH rulemakings: Tracey Trigillo, DPH, 
524 S. Second St., 6th Floor, Springfield, 
IL  62701, dph.rules@illinois.gov 
 
▪ WIC VENDORS 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN 
SERVICES adopted amendments to 
WIC Vendor Management Code (77 
IAC 672; proposed at 47 Ill Reg 13787) 
effective 1/30/24 at 48 Ill Reg 2491. 
These amendments clarify that 50% 
Vendors include initial Women, 
Infants and Children (WIC) Program 
Vendor applicants who estimate that 
WIC food benefits will comprise 50% 
or more of their SNAP-eligible sales. 
Applicants for WIC Vendor 
authorization have 60 days to 
complete each step in the 
authorization process once they have 
been notified of each requirement; if 
they fail to complete these steps in a 
timely manner, their applications will 
be rejected and they will have to start 
the application process again. The 
documentation required for an 
application is explained in greater 
detail. The probationary authorization 
issued after DHS receives a completed 
application is shortened from 90 to 60 
days. Vendors must have at least one 
 
 

(cont. page 6) 
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Adopted Rules 
(cont. from page 5) 
 
location within Illinois, but additional 
out of State locations within 20 miles 
of the State border may be approved 
if they meet participant access 
criteria. For applicants that DHS 
determines are needed to ensure 
participant access, DHS may cover the 
costs of installing a stand-beside Point 
of Sale terminal.  With regard to 
instances in which DHS determines 
that disqualification of a WIC Vendor 
would result in inadequate WIC 
participant access, DHS will impose 
civil monetary penalties on the vendor 
instead of disqualification. Small 
businesses applying for authorization 
as WIC vendors are affected by this 
rulemaking.  
 
Questions/requests for copies: Tracie 
Drew, DHS, 100 S. Grand Ave. East, 
Harris Building, 3rd Floor, Springfield IL  
62762, 217-785-9772. 
 
TAX PENALTIES 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
adopted an amendment to the Part 
titled Uniform Penalty and Interest Act 

(86 IAC 700; proposed 47 Ill Reg 
14714) effective 1/31/24 at 48 Ill Reg 
2676, implementing PA 103-0098, 
which clarifies that for State tax 
returns filed on and after 1/1/24, any 
additional State income tax liability 
resulting from a change to the 
taxpayer’s federal income tax return 
that must be reported to DOR must be 
paid no later than the due date for 
filing the federal amended return in 
order to avoid State tax penalties.  
 
Questions/requests for copies: Brian 
Fliflet, DOR, 101 W. Jefferson St., 
Springfield IL  62794, 217-782-2844, 
REV.GCO@illinois.gov 
 
▪ CPA EXAMS 
 
The BOARD OF EXAMINERS adopted 
amendments to CerƟficate of 
EducaƟon and ExaminaƟon 
Requirements (23 IAC 1400; proposed 
at 47 Ill Reg 14911) effecƟve 2/1/24 at 
48 Ill Reg 2406, that increase the 
amount of time a candidate can pass 
all sections of the Certified Public 
Accountant (CPA) examination from 
18 months after the candidate takes a 
section of the examination to 30 
months after scores for that section 
are released to candidates. 

Candidates for CPA certification and 
their employers are affected.  
 
Questions/requests for copies: 
Carlarta Ratchford, BOE, 1120 E. Diehl 
Road, Suite 107, Naperville IL  60563, 
847-753-8900, cratchford@ilboe.org 
 
OSFM REPEALER 
 
The OFFICE OF THE STATE FIRE 
MARSHAL repealed the Part Ɵtled 
Furniture Fire Safety RegulaƟons (41 
IAC 300; proposed at 47 Ill Reg 15247) 
effective 1/30/24 at 48 Ill Reg 2710, in 
response to a Public Act and federal 
regulations adopted in 2021. The 
federal regulation at 16 CFR 1640 
created a federal standard for the 
flammability of upholstered furniture 
and preempts state regulation on this 
topic. PA 103-151 amended the 
Furniture Fire Safety Act (425 ILCS 45) 
and recognized the federal regulation.  
 
Questions/requests for copies: 
Katherine Nunes, OSFM, 555 W. 
Monroe St., Ste. 1300-N, Chicago IL  
60661, 312-814-8959, fax 312-814-
3459, 
SFM.300rulemaking@fdmail.sfm.illin
ois.gov 
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Second Notices____________________________________ 
The following rulemakings were moved to Second Notice this 
week by the agency listed below, commencing the JCAR review 
period. These rulemakings will be considered at the March 12, 
2024 meeting in Springfield. Other items not published in the 
Illinois Register or The Flinn Report may also be considered. 
Further comments concerning these rulemakings should be 
addressed to JCAR at jcar@ilga.gov. 

 
DEPT OF FINANCIAL AND PROFESSIONAL REGULATION 

Illinois Occupational Therapy Practice Act (68 IAC 1315; 47 Ill 
Reg 17339) proposed 11/27/23 
 
Optometric Practice Act of 1987 (68 IAC 1320; 47 Ill Reg 13402) 
proposed 9/22/23 
 
Illinois Physical Therapy Act (68 IAC 1340; 47 Ill Reg 17367) 
proposed 11/27/23 

 

DEPT OF HUMAN SERVICES 
Medicaid Home and Community-Based Services Waiver Program 
for Individuals with Developmental Disabilities (59 IAC 120; 47 Ill 
Reg 3904) proposed 3/24/23 
 

DEPT OF NATURAL RESOURCES 
Conservation Stewardship Program (17 IAC 2580; 47 Ill Reg 
17778) proposed 12/1/23  
 
The Illinois Oil and Gas Act (62 IAC 240; 47 Ill Reg 17786) 
proposed 12/1/23 
 

SECRETARY OF STATE 
Issuance of Licenses (92 IAC 1030; 47 Ill Reg 4237) proposed 
3/31/23 

 
Issuance of Licenses (92 IAC 1030; 47 Ill Reg 12704) proposed 
8/25/23 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
Next JCAR Meeting: Tuesday, March 12, 10:30 a.m.  

Room C-1, Stratton Bldg., 401 S. Spring St., Springfield 
Meeting will be live streamed on the JCAR website 

 
Joint Committee on Administrative Rules 

 
Senator Bill Cunningham, Co-Chair  Representative Ryan Spain, Co-Chair 
Senator Cristina Castro    Representative Eva-Dina Delgado 
Senator Donald DeWitte   Representative Jackie Haas 
Senator Dale Fowler    Representative Steven Reick 
Senator Napoleon Harris, III   Representative Curtis Tarver, II 
Senator Sue Rezin    Representative Dave Vella 

 
Kim Schultz, Executive Director ■ Kevin Kulavic, Deputy Director 

700 Stratton Office Building, Springfield IL 62706 
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